Call for Nomination for the Asian Young Aerosol Scientist Award

The Asian Young Aerosol Scientist Award was established by the Asian Aerosol Research Assembly and TSI Incorporated to recognize a young scientist in Asia, Australia, and New Zealand who has made an outstanding contribution to the field of Aerosol Science and Technology. The award aims to promote research and development in Aerosol Science and Technology contributed by Asian young scientists and researchers.

Award Rules

Selection Process

The Asian Young Aerosol Scientist Award committee recommends a candidate for this award to the Board of Directors of the Asian Aerosol Research Assembly to grant the award in the year the AAC is held.

Nominee

The nominee must be a person under 41 years of age by the date of the Asian Aerosol Conference of that year (3rd November 2024) and has conducted his or her scientific work in Asia, Australia, and New Zealand for 3 years or longer and who has not already received this award. The Asian Young Aerosol Award committee recommends a candidate for this award to the Board of Directors of the Asian Aerosol Research Assembly to grant the award.

Nominator

A person familiar with the nominee's scientific /technical contributions can nominate.

Nomination Dossier

The four documents described below should be submitted as a single PDF in the following order:

- 1. Cover Page
- 2. Letter from Nominator
- 3. Supporting Letters
- 4. Vitae and or Job Description and Publications

Cover Page: Complete the cover page of the nomination and submit it with the complete nomination packet.

Letter from Nominator: Should focus on personal knowledge and provide evidence of the nominee's outstanding scientific and/or engineering contribution to aerosol science.

Supporting Letters: <u>Three supporting letters</u> from persons (the nominee's supervisor and peers are acceptable) who have personal knowledge of the nominee's work and provide evidence of the nominee's outstanding scientific and/or engineering contribution to aerosol science.

Vitae and/or Job Description and publications: Appropriate for the position, and a list of the nominee's <u>significant</u> publications.

Nomination Submission and date

Submit nominations to the Asian Young Aerosol Scientist Award Committee at <u>Tawatchai.C@chula.ac.th</u> by **15th September 2024**.

Please contact <u>Tawatchai.C@chula.ac.th</u> for further questions.

Appendix

i) List of the 2024 AYASA committee members

Chair: Tawatchai Charinpanitkul, Chulalongkorn University Committee member: Dr. Manish Joshi, Indian Aerosol Science and Technology Association Committee member: Prof. Maosheng Yao, Peking University Committee member: Prof. Wuled Lenggoro, Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology Committee member: Prof. Charles Lo, University of Minnesota Twin Cities

ii) Past records

AYASA Recipients 2022 Yongjie LI (Macau) 2019 Tomoki NAKAYAMA (JAAST) (co-winner) Rong WANG (CSP) (co-winner) 2017 Ru-Jin HUANG (CSP) (co-winner) Jeong Hoon BYEON (KAPAR) (co-winner) 2015 Jingkun JIANG (CSP) (co-winner) Tomoaki OKUDA (JAAST) (co-winner) 2013 Maosheng YAO (CSP) (co-winner) Takashi OGI (JAAST) (co-winner) Kin-fai HO (Hong Kong) (co-winner) 2011 Toshihiko TAKEMURA (JAAST) (co-winner) Junho JI (KAPAR) (co-winner) 2009 Junji CAO (CSP) (co-winner) Ferry ISKANDAR (JAAST) (co-winner)

- 2007..... Wuled LENGGORO (JAAST) (co-winner) S. K. SATHEESH (IASTA) (co-winner)
- 2005 Chak K. CHAN (Hong Kong)

Award Committee Chair

2019-2022 Charles LO

- 2017-2019 Kang-Ho AHN (KAPAR)
- 2015-2017 Yoshio OTANI (JAAST)
- 2013-2015 Howard BRIDGMAN (AAA)
- 2011-2013 Junji CAO (CSP)
- 2009-2011 Sang Soo KIM (KAIST)
- 2007-2009 Panuganti DEVARA (IASTA)
- 2005-2007 Takashi SHIBATA (JAAST)
- 2003-2005 Chuen-Jinn TSAI (TAAR)